Uncategorized

Has it Really Been a Year?!?

My, how time has flown! Today, December 21st, 2012, is the one year anniversary of when Paul asked me to marry him. (It is also my parents 21st anniversary…happy anniversary, Mom & Dad!)

So, to celebrate this special day, I decided to post our engagement story from our wedding website. I’m hoping to post the video later if I can find it…

(Also, I have been trying to get Hannah to write her side of this story for a year…)

Enjoy!

 

From Sarah:     My sister Hannah and I were flying to Texas to see Paul and then go meet his family. I had absolutely NO IDEA that Paul was going to propose on this trip.

397944_2294875022218_815537997_n395338_2294874182197_649767401_n 383030_2294874782212_1688232295_n

Hannah and I had left New Orleans EARLY that morning and got into Texas around 9:30 or so. We got off the plane and headed out. Much to my dismay, someone (you know who you are 😉 ) had to take a bathroom break instead of rushing with me to go see Paul. lol. Little did I know that this person knew that Paul was planning to propose at the airport, and she was supposed to video it. 🙂

We finally make it out and head down the escalator when I see him.

Paul was standing there with a BEAUTIFUL bouquet of orange (my favorite color) roses! I ran over and gave him a hug and he took my luggage and had me carry the flowers. (Poor Hannah was left to fend for herself)

407762_2294878142296_2042596543_n

We then went and grabbed our checked luggage…well, Paul grabbed mine. He had given me his keys and asked for me to pop open the trunk of his car so he could load all of our stuff.

We make it out to his car, and I pop open the trunk, but it only opened slightly. I walk over to it and lift the lid of the trunk up and there is the awesomest sign ever!!! Paul had made a sign with “Sarah will you marry me?” written on it taped upright in the trunk.

photo

I gasp and start nodding and squeaking “Yes! Yes!” as I turn towards Paul.

He is kneeling there with my dream ring in his hand and asks me again to marry him.

I responded with a YES! 😀

He then motioned towards the ring in his hand “This is for you…”

I nodded

“Do you want to try is on?”

More nodding on my part.

IMG_1350

He put it on my finger and it fit perfectly! We hugged and told each other ‘I love you’ for the very first time ever. Paul then loaded the luggage and we got in the car, but the surprises weren’t over yet! There in my seat were two tickets to go see Mission Impossible IV in 3D at the Imax on the riverwalk! I had been dying to see it, so I was even more excited, if that was at all possible! 😉 (don’t worry, Hannah had a ticket too) We then topped the day off with Ben and Jerry’s.

403580_2294876422253_1874764987_n 392286_2294875822238_1961789721_n 380926_2294876142246_230054244_n

BEST.PROPOSAL.EVER.

 

 

The Proposal, Paul’s Perspective

It’s risky business any time a man asks a woman to spend the rest of her life with him. My story is no different than the profusion of love stories the world sees every day, except for one thing. None of them include Sarah. Seriously – Sarah is worth every minute of the risk, the challenge, and the excitement.

385850_2294875542231_391903239_n
Sarah and I had been courting for 4 months, and we had made plans to go and visit my family in Washington over Christmas. As the time for the trip approached, I heard from Sarah’s dad that I had the all-clear to propose at any place and time of my choosing. After conferring with him and the family, the plan finally was settled that I would ask Sarah to marry me in San Antonio, which was the jumping off point before our trip to Washington. By the time any of this started to materialize, I only had two weeks until the day Sarah and her sister arrived in San Antonio. God was gracious during the preparation, and I was able to obtain Sarah’s ring – from the same place her father bought the ring he gave her mother! I made Sarah a huge orange poster asking her to marry me, ensuring there were plenty of options for her to choose from – as if she could choose anything but ‘Yes,’ right? 🙂 Orange roses were not the easiest to find, but God finally put some in my hands the day before she flew in.

397627_2294908943066_1663936608_n
When the day of the proposal arrived, I guess I was a bit nervous. Yeah, nervous enough to arrive at the airport a whole hour before her flight arrived. I can never be sure how traffic between my home and the airport is, so I left plenty early. After parking, I put the sign in the trunk, with the intention of making Sarah open it.

Around 9:15 am, the plane arrived and the girls got off the plane. I met Sarah at the bottom of the escalator with the orange roses I knew she’d love. The hug she gave me was much nicer than any of the roses I could give her! 😉 It was a bit challenging trying to control my facial expressions as I manipulated the situation to set her up to open the trunk… but it all worked! Hannah and I carried the luggage, poor Hannah struggling to maintain the equilibrium of her luggage and still hang onto the video camera she had in her other hand. We made it to the car, and Sarah hit the trunk button on the key fob. As planned, the trunk only popped up an inch or so, forcing Sarah to walk up to it and move it up. Her face went from excited-to-be-in-San-Antonio to OH-MY-GOODNESS faster ‘n you can say ‘Whoa!’ Sarah normally is the kind of person who expresses excitement very vocally, often with squeals, jumping up and down, etc. Not this time. She covered her mouth, started nodding, and said ‘Yes’ repeatedly, in a whispery sort of way. The kind of way you would see when someone opens their mouth to talk but no sound comes out. It took probably close to 3-4 minutes (that’s what it felt like, anyway) before I could get her to take the ring and put it on. I finally had to say, “You know this is yours, right? Did you want to try it on?” Sarah was so quiet that day. She finally started talking again late in the afternoon. I’m so grateful she said ‘Yes!’

378532_2294880142346_341438736_n

The rest of the story is just a repeat of the history of most people who get married, I suppose. We had a wonderful day around San Antonio, and our trip to Washington was awesome, and the visit with family was incredible. We look forward to spending our wedding day seeing you and sharing our joy with you!

Leave a Reply

